Posted by: niicocole | April 16, 2009

quotes?

so, it kind of annoyed me that margaret atwood did not use quotes. i found it a little hard to read and understand because i was not sure if she was speaking to the person or thinking it. it dawned on me though, that she did this because maybe she wanted to show that offred was actually thinking of what she was trying to say. sometimes people do not actually think before they act or speak, and i think atwood was trying to make it a point of showing that without the quotes, offred is actually thinking of what to say and what not to. i feel as if their language and literacy is very restricted. if they say something out of line, they would get in trouble and be punished. i noticed that the only things in quotes are the words that other people are saying because it is not what she is thinking, but what she is comprehending what is being said to her. i also noticed that the words taht are italicized are the words or phrases that offred is reflecting on and is actually trying to make sense of what this word/phrase means to her. although atwood does not use quotes in most of the dialogues, i find it interesting because she is trying to prove a point that im not so sure about, but im pretty sure that it has to do with the fact that any form of communication is restricted. =)


Responses

  1. Trust me. That irritated the hell out of me. Sometimes, I couldn’t figure out when one sentence began and when a person was being quoted. When multiple people spoke, it was harder for me to understand the conversation and I would have to reread it over and over. Trust me, not cool man.

    In regards to italicized words, I found it odd that those were what she was going to ponder on, not her actual thoughts. Which is weird because aren’t thoughts usually italicized?

    I’d have to say that this book is well written, but I hated her un-usage of quotes.

    It also makes me question the purpose of why she wouldn’t use quotes. I mean, there has to be some reason. I tried looking it up, but there was no answer. I can’t really think of why someone wouldn’t use quotes. They’re important. These are words said by other people. THERE WOULD BE NO LOGICAL REASON WHY SOMEONE WOULD NOT USE THEM THROUGHOUT A WHOLE FREAKING NOVEL…….pardon my rant.

  2. Man oh man, I agree with you AND Sheryl! it really got on my nerves when I realized that she didn’t use quotation marks. and i also don’t get why she used quotations for certain parts and not the rest. it’s so confusing! at first, I thought it was just some type of error, but nope! it’s so confusing when i’m reading the story and then I find out that the part that I’m reading is someone saying something! and then I have to read it ALL over again, and I hate that! I wish we were able to know why she doesn’t use quotes.. too bad we can’t somehow get a hold of her and find out!


Leave a comment

Categories